Posted by: Noni | October 20, 2015

The Pipeline – A poem revisted in light of our new Prime Minister

It was over 3 years ago that I wrote this piece. I had been out of the country for many years and when I returned to Canada I was saddened at the blatant destruction and devastation caused by mining and oil projects. What had happened to the Canada that I had loved and been so fiercely proud of? I’m inspired now. The people of Canada have raised their voices and claimed ownership of their land again. A powerful message to the world that we don’t want corporate control or corrupt leaders. ¬†The damage had been done, pipelines laid and tar sands dug, tailing ponds overflowing… but change, CHANGE is the new buzzword. We beat fear with hope. I hold Justin Trudeau to the task. I will watch his every move and scrutinize his policies. We have hope. I breath deeply and wait for the dawn of a new day.The Pipeline - An Ode to Enbridge

written by Alison Noni Richards (c) 2012

Leave a Reply

Categories

